A Cynefin model of ITSM support levels

The Cynefin model is a useful model for thinking about the situation you are in.


Here is a suggested mapping of the model onto support levels:

Level 1 support = simple. Known, standard.
Level 2 = complicated. Case.
Level 3 = complex. Research, invent.
Major Incident = chaotic. Get some control.
No organised support = disordered. Get a grip.

By "case" I mean case management, as in legal case, medical case, social work case.... See my Standard+Case model.

I mapped Cynefin onto Standard+Case too


Note how only one part of the world can be automated (known, defined/standardized, repeatable), and automation can fail in changing circumstances.

Syndicate content